The EYFS describes the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5.  This is a very important stage in each child’s development. It helps them prepare for school. Working with parents we want to ensure each child’s experience is happy, active, exciting and fun.
Our focus is on supporting children's development, care and learning needs.
The EYFS Framework sets out:
  • Learning and Development 
  • Assessments that maps your child’s progress
  • Welfare Requirements to keep your child safe and promote welfare
  • Early Learning Goals
Children will focus on:
  • Communication and Language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development
These areas are essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.
As children grow, then a further 4 areas of learning are introduced:
  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design.
The aim always is to follow your child's unique needs and interests through play.
Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

EYFS - Guide for Parents

EYFS 2021

A guide for parents.


EYFS (2024)

Statutory framework for the early years foundation stage 2024
The early years foundation stage was introduced in 2008. You can download here a copy of the latest revision.
EYFS 2024.pdf
Adobe Acrobat document [497.4 KB]

Curriculum Plan 2023-2024

Curriculum Plan 2023/24
The plan provides opportunities for play both indoors and outdoors to support children's development across both the prime and specific areas of learning
Curriculum Plan 2023:24 .pdf
Adobe Acrobat document [133.3 KB]

Parent Packs 2023/24

Help for early years providers 2023

The early years foundation stage changed from 1 September 2023 to increase the ratio of two year olds from 4 to 5.